International Association of Crime Writers, North American Branch


The International Association of Crime Writers is an organization of professional writers who have formed national branches in order to encourage communication among writers of all nationalities and to promote crime writing as an influential and significant art form. We support the translation of crime writing into other languages and we speak with a strong voice to defend authors against censorship and other forms of tyranny.

Currently, we have branches in England, Italy, Spain, Russia, Scandinavia, Bulgaria, Germany, Mexico, Cuba, the Czech Republic, France, Switzerland, the Netherlands, and other countries. The North American branch, which covers both Canada and the United States, has about 250 members. Membership world-wide is about 1,000.


IACW participates in a number of conferences around the world and has relationships with a number of international writers organizations.

We also annually award the prestigious Hammett Prize for literary excellence in crime writing to a work of fiction or nonfiction by a U.S. or Canadian author.

IACW North American Branch Officers

President: Wendy Hornsby

Secretary: Steven Steinbock

Treasurer: Jim Weikart

Executive Council:

  • Gil Adamson
  • Christine Goff
  • Chuck Hogan
  • Caro Soles
  • Stefanie Matteson
  • Jeanne Matthews
  • Eddie Muller
  • Del Staecker
  • Bruce Zimmerman

Acting Executive Director: J. Madison Davis,